US, Gulf states slap sanctions on Hezbollah leadership

Hezbollah’s Shura Council was highlighted according to a statement released by the U.S treasury, “specifically Hasan Nasrallah, the Secretary-General” of the group.
by Georgi Azar

16 May 2018 | 23:44

Source: by Annahar

  • by Georgi Azar
  • Source: Annahar
  • Last update: 16 May 2018 | 23:44

The United States Department of State has designated Hezbollah a terrorist organization since 1995 (AP Photo)

BEIRUT: The U.S, along with Gulf states, designated Wednesday the senior leadership of the Iranian-backed Hezbollah with the aim of “disrupting” its operations. 

The joint action came in partnership between the U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) and the seven member nations of the Terrorist Financing and Targeting Center (TFTC), which include Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Kuwait, the Sultanate of Oman, Qatar, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE). 

Hezbollah’s Shura Council was targeted according to a statement released by the U.S Treasury, “specifically Hasan Nasrallah, the Secretary-General” of the group. 

The OFAC and TFTC nations further designated Naim Qasim, Muhammad Yazbak, Husayn Al- Khalil, and Ibrahim al-Amin al-Sayyid “pursuant to Executive Order (E.O.) 13224, which targets terrorists and those providing support to terrorists or acts of terrorism.”

TFTC member states further designated key Hezbollah affiliated individuals and entities, including Talal Hamiyah, Ali Youssef Charara, Spectrum Group, Hasan Ebrahimi, Maher Trading, Hashem Safieddine, Adham Tabaja, Al-Inmaa Group, and Al-Inmaa Engineering and Contracting, all of whom were previously designated by the U.S.

“The TFTC again demonstrated its great value to international security by disrupting Iran and Hizballah’s destabilizing influence in the region.  By targeting Hizballah’s Shura Council, our nations collectively rejected the false distinction between a so-called ‘Political Wing’ and Hizballah’s global terrorist plotting,” said Secretary of the Treasury Steven T. Mnuchin. 

This is the second TFTC designation action since the centre was announced on May 21, 2017.  

The TFTC was created to “expand and strengthen the seven member states’ cooperation to counter the financing of terrorism by facilitating coordinated disruptive actions, sharing of financial intelligence information, and member state capacity-building to target terrorist financing networks and related activities that pose national security threats to TFTC members.”

These designations follow U.S President Trump’s decision last week to cease U.S. participation in the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action, and to begin reimposing U.S. nuclear-related sanctions on the Iranian regime.

The Shura Council is Hezbollah's premier decision-making body responsible for religious, military, and strategic matters and asserts control over administrative, planning, and policy-making authorities.

Show Comments

An-Nahar is not responsible for the comments that users post below. We kindly ask you to keep this space a clean and respectful forum for discussion.