LAU academic becomes first Lebanese to win 2017 AIB award

| Annahar | February 4, 2017 at 19:41

BEIRUT: LAU Provost, Dr. George K. Najjar, has received the 2017 Academy of International Business (AIB) award.

The award has been offered annually since 1959 to globally outstanding academic leaders known for major contributions in the domain of "Academic Leadership in Business Education."

Professor Raj Aggarwal, the chair of the AIB selection committee, noted in bestowing the award:

"On behalf of the Committee, it is my privilege to let Professor George Naijar know that he has been selected to be the 2017 recipient of the AIB International of the Year Award. Hearty congratulations! You are clearly well deserving of this most distinguished award in IB education leadership. We believe this is a huge statement of the contributions you have made over your outstanding career...."

In a second letter also addressed to Dr. Najjar, Dean of the fellows of AIB, Professor Paul Beamsih said:

" I am most pleased to welcome you as the 2017 International Educator of the year. The Awards committee considered numerous candidates and have clearly made an excellent choice."

Provost Najjar is the founding Dean of the Olayan School of Business at AUB between 2000 – 2012, and before that VP for Regional External Programs between 1997 – 2006. He also serves as AACSB (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business) special Advisor for the Middle East and Africa.

He is the first Lebanese academic to have received the distinction of the AIB award, a leading recognition in the domain of academic international business.

The award will be bestowed during the AIB 2017 conference in Dubai during the period July 2 – 5, 2017.

LAU President, Dr. Joseph G. Jabbra, congratulated Dr. Najjar in a message to the LAU community.

An-Nahar is not responsible for the comments that users post below. We kindly ask you to keep this space a clean and respectful forum for discussion.